Home

Dear Parent,

The following is your child’s schedule.

9:00-10:00- Science or Social Studies

10:05-11:05-Math

11:10-11:40-PE

11:45-12:25- Lunch and Recess

12:35-1:35- ELA

1:40-2:20

Monday-Art

Tuesday-Music

Wednesday-Band

Thursday-Chorus

Friday-Library

2:35-3:25

Monday –Thursday –Skills groups

 Friday- Band-ends at 3:05

 I would like to make all parents aware that we are using a new system for our report cards. For this year Sci. and SS teachers are not able to add comments. I will add them on the conference newsletter for each conference. I have not worked out what I will do for the other two marking periods.
 
 


 
Newsletter 
 
                      
                         June 8, 2018
Dear Families,
            We have continued reading The Hope Chest this week.  Students have been writing summaries or verbally summarizing each chapter as we go along.  We also talked about theme this week. We discussed about mini themes that the author conveys throughout books and we figured out the main theme of the novel.  We will continue talking about how characters in this novel are making a difference as we continue reading. 
             This week in math we have been creating conversion tables for units of time and using the tables to solve problems.  In addition, we have been solving multiplicative comparison word problems using measurement conversion tables. The students have received their graded Module 6 Test, please sign and hand in the optional test resubmission by Wednesday, June 13, 2018.
               We will be learning about New York State government and how a bill becomes a law in our state. Our focus question is: How do the citizens of New York interact with their National and state government?
            Mark your calendar, June 14 is Flag Day and also the Flag Day Pledge of Allegiance World Record Attempt. This will be at 6 P.M. at the Waterloo High School at 96 Stark St. I hope you can make it!
            A couple of reminders for next week:  We have an early dismissal day on Wednesday, June 13.  We will also have Field Days on June 14.  Remember to have your child wear sunscreen to school or bring some sunscreen with them.  Thank you to all the chaperones that were able to attend the field trip.  You all were a great help.  All the 4th grade classes had a really great time!  Ask them what they saw and learned about.    
            If you have any questions or concerns you can email any of us and we will respond as soon as we can.  Have a great weekend!
 
                                                            Mrs. Creeden       acreeden@southseneca.org  
                                                                Mrs. Blum             lblum@southseneca.org
                                                                Miss Borden        bborden@southseneca.org
 








   June 1, 2018
Dear Families,
            We have continued reading The Hope Chest this week.  Students have been writing summaries or verbally summarizing each chapter as we go along.  The students have also been applying their knowledge and skills of figuring our challenging words that they may not know in context and using glossaries that we have projected in class.  Your child has talked about specific characters in class and discussed how character actions affect others in the book and what it says about this character.  Students have come up with some great adjectives to describe them!
           This week in math, students just finished their end-of-module assessment for module 6. We also started a new module on conversion. Students are converting from one unit of measure to another by using conversion tables and they are solving word problems that involve larger units (feet to inches, pounds to ounces, and gallons to cups). Students are using the RWD (read, write, draw) process and are given a of type diagram to solve word problems.
           In Social Studies we will continue with Our National Government and move into how the three branches of government work together through checks and balances. We will also take some time for more Science review for the written part of the State Science Test in June. 
            A couple of reminders for next week:  AR points for the 4th quarter are due on June 8.  The last day of the book fair is on Monday, June 4.  Our 4th grade field trip is on Friday, June 8.  Please make sure that you send in a permission slip and a lunch bag request form (if needed) to your student’s homeroom teacher as soon as possible if you haven’t already.  All 4th grade teachers are all set with parent/caregiver chaperones.  Thank you to everyone that was willing to come and help!  We really appreciate it!  If you would like to sign up your child for the extended day in the summer please remember to bring in the permission forms by June 8
 If you have any questions or concerns you can email any of us and we will respond as soon as we can.  Have a fantastic weekend!
 
                                                            Mrs. Creeden       acreeden@southseneca.org  
                                                                Mrs. Blum             lblum@southseneca.org
                                                                Miss Borden        bborden@southseneca.org
          
                         




May 24, 2018
Dear Families,
            We started a new book set during the time period before women finally won the right to vote called The Hope Chest this week.  Students have been answering questions within the text, about the text and beyond the text.  Students have also been writing summaries about each chapter and focusing on specific characters in the story. 
           The students will be taking the State Performance Science Exam on the 30th and 31st.  We have practiced for this exam and the students are familiar with all the different tools they will be using. Most students walk away from this test wishing they could do it again because they enjoy it so much!
             This week in math, students worked on comparing numbers in both fraction and decimal forms. They should be able to convert fractions to decimals and vice versa. Some visuals that they've learned to help them visualize and compare numbers are the area model, the number line, the place value chart and simple conversion from what we learned in our last module. We also covered our last section on decimals by learning how to add. They've discovered various methods to solve: vertical algorithm and conversion from decimals to fractions. Students should expect a module review and test next week.
            This is a bittersweet week for me as it is my last week with your children. Thank you for all the support that you've given me and put into your child's learning. I'm super excited to have them move up to 5th grade! During my absence, Ms. Brandisue Borden will take my place. Look out for her personal introduction letter this week!
       A couple of reminders for next week: There will be no school from May 25-May 28 to observe Memorial Day weekend.  AR points for the 4th quarter are due on June 8.    The Book Fair will also occur from May 29 to June 4.  Students will be able to purchase items during their library time or in the morning during the week.    
 If you have any questions or concerns you can email any of us and we will respond as soon as we can.  Have a great 4-day weekend!
 
                                                            Mrs. Creeden       acreeden@southseneca.org  
                                                                Mrs. Blum             lblum@southseneca.org
                                                                Mrs. Nguyen-Vo   mnguyenvo@southseneca.org
 
 










   May 18, 2018
Dear Families,
            Students have started Module 4 this week.  We are starting to learn about the Women’s Suffrage Movement.  We read some texts this week about Susan B. Anthony and voting.  Students have really been focusing on using strategies to figure out difficult words in the text.  They have been really focusing and working hard!  These texts will help to prepare us and give us background information on a book called The Hope Chest.
           We will be spending part of our time on Science review and the other part on Social Studies. Our first lesson in Social Studies will be: Our National Government.  We will be learning that the Constitution is a plan of government. We will also study the functions and requirements of each branch of government.
           This week in math, students modeled equivalence of tenths and hundredths using the area model and number line. They also worked on mixed number conversions to decimals by tying it in with their place value knowledge. Additionally, they worked on comparing decimal numbers which can help them easily compare things to real-life situations such as money comparison. 
   A couple of reminders for next week: Scholastic book orders are due for all three classes on May 24, 2018.  Students have the spring concert on Tuesday, May 22.  There will be NO EXTENDED DAY for 4th and 5th grade students to prepare for the concert. The 4th grade drama students will perform a short play on Monday, May 21 for anyone that is interested.  They will perform from 4:45-5:15.  The Book Fair will also occur from May 29 to June 4.  Students will be able to purchase items during their library time or in the morning during the week.    
 If you have any questions or concerns you can email any of us and we will respond as soon as we can.  Have an amazing weekend!
 
                                                            Mrs. Creeden       acreeden@southseneca.org  
                                                                Mrs. Blum             lblum@southseneca.org
                                                                Mrs. Nguyen-Vo   mnguyenvo@southseneca.org
 
 





                        






 May 11, 2018
Dear Families,
            Students have planned their Revolutionary broadside and written final copies this week.  They were able to choose their own perspective on the war.  They included headlines, introductory paragraphs and included reasons and evidence of why they would support the war and independence from Great Britain (Patriot) or why they would not support the war and remain loyal to their king in Great Britain (Loyalist).  Then we started our last module of the year which focuses on the Suffrage Movement and the importance of voting.  We started to build some background knowledge and read some texts about voting and Susan B. Anthony. 
          We will continue to work on the Practice Assessment in Science. These five hands on activities will help students with the State Science Test.
          This week in math, students took their end of Module 5 assessment. Please help your child by going over their misconceptions and consider the optional test redo. We started Module 6 on Fraction Decimals learning how to decompose wholes into tenths by measuring with the centimeter ruler. Students are bridging their understanding of how fractions and decimals are similar concepts in that they make up parts of a whole. They are reinforcing their learning with multiple models such as the area model and number line, and are applying their place value knowledge to write a given mixed number in expanded form.
       A couple of reminders for next week: Scholastic book orders are due for all three classes on May 24, 2018.  Students will have a ½ day next Wednesday, May 16 for parent/teacher conferences.  The students will also have their next D.E.A.R. (drop everything and read) day on Thursday, May 17.  Your child will be able to “drop everything” and read for a specific time in the day.  The 4/5 Concert will be held on Tuesday, May 22.  Look for a letter from Ms. P and Mrs. Braun in the Friday folder.    
 If you have any questions or concerns you can email any of us and we will respond promptly.  Have a great weekend!
 
                                                            Mrs. Creeden       acreeden@southseneca.org  
                                                                Mrs. Blum             lblum@southseneca.org
                                                                Mrs. Nguyen-Vo   mnguyenvo@southseneca.org
                      








  



                      
 May 4, 2018
Dear Families,
             Students have continued to work on looking at different opinions and perspectives of the Revolutionary War this week.  We have continued to talk about evidence in the text and supporting our answers with reasons to help explain our thinking.  We really focused on how opinions are supported by reasons (why an author has a particular opinion) and evidence to support their reasons with facts and details.  We looked at some examples of broadsides from the Revolutionary War era to prepare students to write their own opinion of the war and we even started planning our own writing for our perspective or opinion on the war. 
               Students took the New York State Math Test this week. They worked really hard and persevered through the questions. Students continued to work on last concepts on fractions to finish off Module 5. They can expect a mini test sometime next week. Thank you for all the support you've given your child throughout their learning!
        We will be moving back into Science. Our next kit is called the Practice Performance Assessment. The purpose of this kit is to expose students to the types of questions and activities they will encounter during the NYS grade 4 exam. It allows students to be