Home




December 6, 2019
 
   We are continuing with energy antics in Science. Our key concepts are the sun is the primary source of energy, Heat causes change in matter and the Sun's energy is transferred from plants and animals through the food chain. The students should be able to determine where types of energy come from and they should be able to trace all energy back to the sun as the primary source of energy.
     We started our new unit about Colonial Times.  Students have been reading different texts (articles and two books) about daily life in Colonial Times.  Students are really focusing on inferring (making educated guesses or drawing conclusions about something in the text based on their background knowledge) in this unit.  They look at pictures, charts, graphs, maps or part of the text to try and infer about life in colonial times.  They have been working really hard and coming up with some great inferences! 
     Students worked on finding patterns for multiplying with multiples of 10. They also worked on up to 4 digit by 1 digit multiplication using the place value chart, area model, and the partial products method. The strategies go from visual to more abstract methods for solving multiplication with bigger numbers. Students will learn how to solve for problems using the standard algorithm and should expect a test at the end of the week. Please assist your child in practicing with strategies they most feel comfortable with. (Look at back)
Dates to remember
December 12: D.E.A.R. (Drop everything and read) day
December 17: 4/5 winter concert at 2pm and 7pm
(No extended day for 4th grade)

                        Have a wonderful weekend!
Mrs. Blum (lblum@southseneca.org)
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org






December 6, 2019
    We are continuing with Energy Antics. To help your child with this concept, non-fiction books on energy would be good to read. We focus on sound, heat, mechanical, chemical, light and electrical energy. At this point we have played with toys to see what type of energy they use and we have built closed circuits that electricity can travel through and cause a reaction such as a fan moving or a light shining.     
    We have finished the novel Eagle Song this week and have talked a lot about symbolism and what the author is trying to teach us.  We have continued to answer text-based questions using evidence and we discussed about the theme or lesson the author was trying to show us in this book.  We started planning our mini essay on conflict and how characters in the book solved their problems with the help of their community, family and culture.  We  will finish up before the break next week. 
 
     This week in math, students worked on figuring out the formulas for finding the perimeter and area of rectangles (outside and inside part of a space/item). They used their knowledge to then sketch, measure, and solve for them. Students also worked on finding missing side lengths when given the perimeter or area. Please help your child find ways to see how they can solve for these in real-life. Additionally, please help them review multiplication math facts as this is our big focus for Module 3. 
Dates to Remember

December 3: half day (parent/teacher conferences) and guest speaker presentation
November 27-December 1: thanksgiving break
November 26: no extended day
 
                        Have a Great break!
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org)

 
 
   November 15, 2019
      We will be moving back to Science. Our new unit is called Energy Antics. We will be doing activities designed to reinforce the vocabulary and information about energy and its resources. Our first lesson is What is Energy? When we have completed this lesson students should be able to explain that energy is based on the idea that energy can do work. Students should be able to give examples. 
      We are continuing to read Eagle Song and learn about strategies to figure out words in the text that we don’t know.  Your child is working on flagging evidence in their text to answer questions and discuss questions with their triad or group members.  They have looked at symbolism and metaphors in the text to analyze what the author is trying to teach them.
      This week in math, students are working on their "Banana Split Multiplication Challenge." This is a series of work they do that teaches them different strategies and reinforces conceptual understanding. For each multiplication fact that they master, they earn parts to a banana split ice cream. Students who complete the entire challenge (0-12 facts) will be able to have a banana split with a movie. Students have been very motivated. Please assist them in helping out with this challenge by having them practice multiplying at home. We will start Module 3 on Multiplication and Division next week.
Dates to remember
November 21: half day (parent/teacher conferences) and Once upon a crime presentation
November 27-December 1: thanksgiving break
ASAP: return parent/teacher conference forms to homeroom teacher

Have a terrific weekend!
Mrs. Blum (lblum@southseneca.org)
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org






 November 8, 2019

    We will be starting a new lesson in Social Studies. The students will read about the political life and relationship of the Iroquois and the Algonquin and compare how they solved problems. The students will be using a Venn diagram to show this comparison. 
     We are continuing to read Eagle Song in Ela and learn about strategies to figure out words in the text that we don’t know.  Your child is working on flagging evidence in their text to answer questions and discuss questions with their triad or group members.  We have also been working on symbolism in the text and understanding and discussing what certain things mean or symbolize for the characters. 
      This week in math, students finished their online lessons on Zearn and completed Module 2 Test on metric conversions and problem solving. We held teacher student conferences about their Module 1-2 Tests and practiced some multiplication skills. You can better prepare your child for Module 3: Multi-Digit Multiplication and Division by practicing their multiplication facts. Get out a deck of cards, split them in two piles, you and your child each pick a card, and multiply the numbers; person with the highest product gets both cards. Winner is the person with most cards at the end. 
Dates to Remember
November 11: No school (Veteran’s day)
November 14: D.E.A.R. (drop everything and read) day
ASAP: return parent/teacher conference forms  to homeroom teacher

Have a wonderful weekend!
Mrs. Blum (lblum@southseneca.org)
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org








  We started a realistic fiction book in ELA called Eagle Song. This book is about a Mohawk boy that moved from a reservation near the St. Lawrence River to Brooklyn, NY.  Your child will use their background knowledge of what they have learned about the Haudenosaunee and make connections while they read.  They are also working on flagging evidence in their text to answer questions and discuss questions with their triad or group members.
      Our Social Studies will continue with the Native Americans in New York. We will be doing research on the food, clothing, shelter, tools, recreation, beliefs and customs and tribal organization of the Iroquois and Algonquins. The students will use the textbook, other books I provide and their Chrome book to find this information.
       This week in math, students started working on Module 2 on Metric Conversions. The module deals with converting centimeters, meters and kilometers; grams to kilograms; and, milliliters to liters. We are using Zearn, an integrated online math program that supports teacher teaching, for our whole module. There are missions that students have to go through to help them build on conceptual and procedural fluency. There are videos embedded to help students and to give them the option of play/replay when necessary. Because it is a short module, students should expect a short test next week. Have your kids review through Zearn.org with their given username and password in class.
Dates to remember
November 8: reading goals are due (end of 1st marking period) 
ASAP: return parent/teacher conference form  to homeroom teacher

Have a great weekend!
Mrs. Blum (lblum@southseneca.org)
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org)




October 24
    We are wrapping up lesson one Where is New York? We are starting lesson 2 in Social Studies. This lesson is titled Native Americans in New York Then and Now. We will start with what we know about Native Americas and then we will learn more about the Iroquois and the Algonquin Indians. This lesson ties in with much of what the children have been learning in ELA.
     We continued to work on making connections with two different texts in ElA class.  We even learned about a symbolic sport called lacrosse that is important to the Haudenosaunee and wrote notes from both texts.  We used those notes and wrote a paragraph about what lacrosse is and why it is important to the Iroquois.
        This week in math, students worked on practicing their addition and subtraction skills by playing the game, Life. They also honed their skills on solving two-step story problems. We reviewed by playing Jeopardy and/or an "escape the room" type activity. They completed the week by finishing the end of Module 1 Test. All review activities are posted in the Math Facebook Group: South Seneca: 4th Grade Math (2019-2020). Our next module is short and will be on metric conversion. Please help them prepare for the bigger modules thereafter by practicing their multiplication facts. 
Dates to Remember
      October 25: No School (Superintendent's Conference Day)
     October 31 Halloween Party
     October 31: Book Orders Due

Have a Fantastic Three-Day Weekend!
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org )
    



October 18,2019
    Your child is continuing to learn about the Haudenosaunee.  We are continuing to read an informational text about the Iroquois on trueflix. We have started answering text based questions and using evidence in our answers.  We are also working on connecting two passages and using evidence in our writing.
      We are continuing our lesson Where in the World is New York in Social Studies.  The students are learning what states surround New York. We have also worked on map skills and learning our global address. 
       This week in math, students worked on adding numbers up to one million. They also worked on "story problems" (word problems) to help them understand how to represent them in tape diagrams. Students also worked on subtracting numbers and decomposing them to smaller units multiple times (borrowing). Students should be able to read story problems and build tape diagrams that consists of multiple parts and wholes and working with "more than" and "fewer than." Please help them review any work that goes home. They should expect the end of Module 1 Test next week.
Dates to Remember
October 22: Merry-ground Presentation
October 24: No Extended Day
October 25: No School (Superintendent's Conference Day)
October 31 : Book Orders Due


Have a wonderful weekend!
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
 
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org )












October 11
    This week in math, students took their Mid-Module 1 Test, and reviewed common mistakes. They also worked on adding values up to 1 million by using the place value chart (PVC) to help with conceptual understanding and used the standard way of adding with regrouping. We also worked on building more complex tape diagrams to help students understand multi-step word problems better. Please review all work that comes home to better assist your child's learning.
     Your child has learned a lot this week about the Haudenosaunee. We have started to take notes, talk about the main idea of a section of text, supporting details and making inferences about specific sections of text.  Ask your child what they have learned about the Haudenosaunee this week.
     We wrapped up our Plant and Animal Defenses Unit in Science. We have now moved on to Social Studies. Our first lesson is Where in the World is New York? We will be learning geographic vocabulary, and learn the location of New York and its regions.
Dates to Remember
 
October 14: No school (Columbus day)
October 31: book orders due
 
Please bring dental forms and t-shirt forms
Back to your homeroom teacher asap.  Thanks!
 
Have a great three-day weekend!
Mrs. Blum (lblum@southseneca.org)
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org







October 4, 2019
      
      This week in math, students worked on comparing numbers with <, >, and = in various number forms. They also worked on rounding numbers up to the hundred thousand place. We worked on talking about whether rounded numbers were reasonable depending on the situation. We did not get a chance to take the test this week but will do so on Monday. Please review any work that comes home in the Friday Folder to best prepare your child. Additionally, please visit/join our Facebook group "South Seneca: 4th Grade Math (2019-2020)" so that you have access to the Jeopardy link to play with your child as review.
    In Science, the students have been learning about animal eyes. Our focus question is do organisms need light to see? How are animals able to sense danger? The goal is that the students will understand that organisms need light to be able to see and sense their environment. We have used light boxes to help us understand this goal. Another target is How are animals able to sense danger? and How do organism know how to respond to different information?
 The goal is that students will understand that animal's brains must wok with their sensory organs to receive , process and respond to different information. We played a game to help us reach that goal. 
      In ELA We finished up our Wampum Belt paragraphs and explained what our symbols are on our wampum belts that we created, what they mean or represent to us and how they connect to something we have learned in class about the Haudenosaunee.  Our 4th grade hallway is filled with our wampum belt creations!  We also learned about non-fiction text features and located them throughout the new text we are reading in class about the Haudenosaunee.  We started learning how to take notes, explaining what the main idea of sections of a text is, and specific details.  We will eventually learn how to turn those notes into a paragraph. 
Dates to Remember
 
October 7: fire safety presentation
October 10: dino-man presentation
 and D.E.A.R. (drop everything and read) day
October 31: book orders due
 
Have a fantastic weekend!
Mrs. Blum (lblum@southseneca.org)
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org )










September 27, 2019
    Our focus question for Science has been How do animal and plant body coverings protect the organism and help them survive? Our goal is to be able to understand how different body coverings protect an organism.  The students are making a book that has details about body coverings. 
      We had the chance to create our own wampum belts and create symbols that are important to us.  We even started planning and wrote our first writing assignment about how our symbols that we created are important to us and how they connect to ideas we have learned in class about the Haudenosaunee.  We’ve focused on mini lessons about complete sentences and topic sentences to help us all be successful writers to start the year.
 
     This week in math, students practiced reading and writing numbers up to one million in standard form, word form, and expanded form. We played "The Price is Right" and wrote fake checks as practice. Students also practiced rounding numbers. Please assist your child in seeing numbers in real life so they get the adequate practice to the skillsets learned.. Please review any work that comes home as we are expecting a mid-module test at the end of next week.
 
     
Dates to Remember
September 30: Bookstore opening
 
Have a fantastic weekend!
 
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.or
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org )







  September 20, 2019
  Your child has continued to learn about the Haudenosaunee in ELA.  We looked at different versions of the peacemaker story and discussed the importance of symbolism.  We also had the chance to research about different wampum belts and share out to our classmates
   We started our first Module on Place Values. Students should be able to build their place value chart (PVC) up to one million. They should also be able to talk about patterns they've noticed, and solve for multiplication comparison problems for "10 times more than/10 times less than." Students are assigned Problem Sets as practice. We go over them as needed and they are expected to make revisions/take notes. Please help them review where necessary.
   Our first unit in Science is called Animal and Plant Structures and Defenses. We have completed the first two lessons. Our focus questions for these two lessons are the following. 
*What is a defense mechanism and how does it enable an organism to survive?
* What details can be observed in a picture to make inferences?
* What is a safe way to take care of a millipede?
•What does a millipede need to survive ?
Dates to Remember:
September 24: early release day
September 26: summer reading party
September 27: Picture day
Have a wonderful weekend!
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org 
Mrs. Nguyen-Vo (mnguyenvo@southseneca.org )


 9/6/19
Dear Parents, 
 
          I have been enjoying getting to know your children. I’m looking forward to having a good year together.
Your child’s schedule is as follows. 
9:00-ELA
10:05- PE
10:40- Mon.-Thurs. Skills/ Friday Chorus
11:45-Recess and Lunch
12:30- Mon.-Library/ Tues.-Music/ Wed&Thurs.-Band/Fri.- Art
1:15 Math
2:20 Sci/SS
 
      Students are welcome to have a water bottle in class. It should be a spill proof bottle and your child’s name should be on the bottle. 
 
    If you want your child to celebrate his/her birthday that is fine. If your child has a summer birthday, it can be celebrated  whenever you wish. Currently, we have 15 students. 
 
    I send home a Friday folder each Friday. I ask that the folder be returned. Parent information and student work will be in the folder. If it does not make it home, I post my newsletters on my web page. 
         
          I would like to remind you that we have Open House Sept.12 from 6:00-7:00.
          If you have questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me. 
 
                                                                                      Sincerely, 
                                                                                      Lana Blum
Dear Families,
  Your child has learned a lot this week about the Haudenosaunee in ELA.  We have read some text and focused on finding the gist (what the text is mostly about) and answering text based questions about their culture.  We have really been focusing on close reading and looking back in the text to answer questions.
   Our first unit in Science is called Animal and Plant Structures and Defenses. We have completed the first two lessons. Our focus questions for these two lessons are the following. 
*What is a defense mechanism and how does it enable an organism to survive?
* What details can be observed in a picture to make inferences?
* What is a safe way to take care of a millipede?
•What does a millipede need to survive
  This week in math, we discussed about fixed versus growth mindsets. It is important for students to understand that struggles are OK and to not give up when they find something challenging. We can train our brain to overcome challenges with dedication and hard work. Students also worked on making their "And I'm a Mathematician!" poster to showcase that we areall learners of math. We also did some mathnorms such as number talks (mental math/practicing communication), 2 Truths and 1 Lietasks, and practiced sense-making. Studentsshould expect to start their first module on Place Value next week.
             Dates to remember
September 18-20: Safety presentation
September 24: early release day
September 26: summer reading party
September 27: Picture day
 
It was wonderful meeting all of youat open house this week.  Have a great weekend!
 Mrs. Creeden (acreeden@southseneca.org